Press "Enter" to skip to content

Afghanistan: R2P Monitor, Issue 44 (15 March 2019)

Source: Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect
Country: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Myanmar, Nigeria, occupied Palestinian territory, South Sudan, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen

R2P Monitor is a bimonthly bulletin applying the Responsibility to Protect lens to populations at risk of mass atrocities around the world. Issue 44 looks at developments in Afghanistan, Myanmar (Burma), Syria, Yemen, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Israel and the Occupied Palestinian Territories, Nigeria, South Sudan, Sudan and Venezuela.

The Responsibility to Protect (R2P) is a global norm, unanimously adopted by heads of state and government at the 2005 UN World Summit, aimed at preventing and halting Genocide, War Crimes, Ethnic Cleansing and Crimes Against Humanity. R2P stipulates that:

» Every State has the Responsibility to Protect its populations from the four mass atrocity crimes (Pillar I).

» The wider international community has the responsibility to encourage and assist individual States in meeting that responsibility (Pillar II).

» If a State is manifestly failing to protect its populations, the international community must be prepared to take appropriate collective action, in a timely and decisive manner and in accordance with the UN Charter (Pillar III).

READ:  Sudanese security files charges against abductors of French mineworker


Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.

Notice: Undefined index: name in /home/southsudan/public_html/wp-content/plugins/propellerads-official/includes/class-propeller-ads-anti-adblock.php on line 196